Palgrave Macmillan Home
Login or Register    Shopping Basket Shopping Basket

Palgrave Macmillan’s Prize-winning Books and Authors

Displaced: The Human Cost of Development and Resettlement by Olivia Bennett and Christopher McDowell has been awarded the Edgar Graham Book Prize 2013 by the Department of Development Studies at SOAS, University of London.

Not the Marrying Kind: A Feminist Critique of Same-Sex Marriage wins Hart Socio-Legal Studies Prize

South African Literature beyond the Cold War is presented with the Gustave O. Arlt Award in the Humanities

Julian Minghi Outstanding Research Award is awarded to Border Walls: Security and the War on Terror in the United States, India, and Israel (Zed Books)

Law, State, and Society in Modern Iran is the winner of the Mosaddeq Foundation Book Prize

The Big Truck that Went By wins the WOLA-Duke Book Award for Human Rights in Latin America and is longlisted for the Ridenhour Book Prize

The Irish Book Awards announces it's shortlist…Palgrave Macmillan title The Famine Plot by Tim Pat Coogan is a contender for the award!

AESA Critics' Choice Award recognises two of our books, The Multi-Talented Mr. Erskine and Education in the Age of Biocapitalism

From Complexity to Simplicity is shortlisted for the CMI Management Book of the Year

The Oral History Association Book Award is awarded to Oral History, Community, and Displacement

How China Became Capitalist wins the Sir Antony Fisher International Memorial Awards

Playing with Picturebooks wins the IRSCL 2013 Honour Book Award

Visions of Britain is shortlisted for Saltire Literary Awards

James Densley, author of How Gangs Work has been awarded the "Frederick Milton Thrasher Award" for "Superior Accomplishments in Gang Research" by the National Gang Crime Research Center (NGCRC)

Kevin Jefferys' book, Sport and Politics in Modern Britain has been awarded this year's Lord Aberdare Prize for Sport History.

Sport Under Communism by Mike Dennis and Jonathan Grix was also shortlisted for this prize.

Arndt Michael has won the prestigious ATWS Cecil B. Currey Book Award for his book India's Foreign Policy and Regional Multilateralism. The award committee commented that his book would 'build a foundation for the future study of the general topic'.

Murder and Gender in the Media: Narratives of Dangerous Love by Jane Monckton-Smith has been awarded the Feminist and Women’s Studies Association Book Prize 2013.

BSC awarded their 2013 Criminology Book Prize to Deborah Drake for Prisons, Punishment and the Pursuit of Security.

Carolyn Lunsford Mears won the 2013 Colorado Book Award in the anthology category with her recent title Reclaiming School in the Aftermath of Trauma: Advice Based on Experience. Read a review of the award on the University of Denver’s blog.

Sebastien Gandon has won the Bertrand Russell Society’s Best Book Award 2013 for his title Russell's Unknown Logicism: A Study in the History and Philosophy of Mathematics.

Winning at Innovation – The A-F Model by Fernando Trías de Bes and Philip Kotler, has been awarded the Chartered Management Institute Award 2013 in the Innovation and Entrepreneurship category.

Monica Popescu’s book South African Literature beyond the Cold War won the Gustave O. Arlt Award in the Humanities 2013. The book traces the development and forms of a fascination with Eastern European cultures in South African literature during and after the Cold War.

Eric Rasmussen was nominated twice in the 2013 Falstaff Awards from PlayShakespeare, once for The Shakespeare Thefts  and secondly for The Shakespeare First Folios: A Descriptive Catalogue co-edited by Anthony James West, which went on to win in the Best Book, Publication or Recording category.

ATHE Outstanding Book Award’s gave Artistic Literacy: Theatre Studies and a Contemporary Liberal Education by Nancy Kindelan a special honourable mention in their 2013 considerations.

Manon Van de Water’s title Theatre, Youth, and Culture was the winner of the AATE Distinguished Book Award 2013.

The Ann Saddlemyer Award 2013 was awarded to Loss and Cultural Remains in Performance by Heather Davis-Fisch, another winning title from the Palgrave Studies in Theatre and Performance History series.

Shakespeare and the Materiality of Performance was winner of the MRDS 2013 David Bevington Award for Best New Book in Early Drama Studies. The awards committee commented that ‘Lin produces fresh and persuasive interpretations of canonical texts while demonstrating how the investigation of performance practices provides keys to unravelling some of the threads of the tacit structures of comprehension in early drama.’

The winner of the Marketing Book of the Year 2013 was Palgrave Macmillan author Tim Calkins, with his book Defending Your Brand: How Smart Companies use Defensive Strategy to Deal with Competitive Attacks.

African Roots and Brazilian Rites: Cultural and National Identity in Brazil by Cheryl Sterling wins the New York African Studies Association Book Award 2013

The College Theology Society Book of the Year was awarded to Kenneth Garcia for his book Academic Freedom and the Telos of the Catholic University.

Displaced: The Human Cost of Development and Resettlement by Olivia Bennett and Christopher McDowell was awarded the 2013 Edgar Graham Book Prize by the School of Oriental and African Studies.

Four Palgrave Macmillan titles from our International Political Economy Series were long listed for the IPEG Prize 2013.


Financialization and Government Borrowing Capacity in Emerging Markets by Iain Hardie
China's Resource Diplomacy in Africa by Marcus Power
The IMF and European Economies by Chris Rogers
Latin America After Neoliberalism by Chrsitopher Wylde

ATDS Best Book Award 2012/2013 was awarded to John Frick for Uncle Tom’s Cabinn on the American Stage and Screen.

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies was awarded to Fairy Tale Queens by Jo Eldridge Carney, part of the Queenship and  Power series.

View the Archive here