Education, Psychoanalysis, and Social Transformation

Hollywood's Exploited

Editors: Van Heertum, R., Kashani, T., Nocella, A., Frymer, B. (Eds.)

Buy this book

eBook $24.99
price for USA
  • ISBN 978-0-230-11742-6
  • Digitally watermarked, no DRM
  • Included format: PDF
  • eBooks can be used on all reading devices
  • Download immediately after purchase
Softcover $115.00
price for USA
  • ISBN 978-0-230-62199-2
  • Free shipping for individuals worldwide
  • Usually dispatched within 3 to 5 business days.
Softcover $37.00
price for USA
  • ISBN 978-0-230-62359-0
  • Free shipping for individuals worldwide
  • Usually dispatched within 3 to 5 business days.
About this book

This book provides an interdisciplinary and collaborative anthology that seeks to make a compelling and exciting analysis of contemporary Hollywood film texts (and the larger industry and society to which they are dialectically related) in light of Giroux's ideas about public pedagogy. Foreword by Lawrence Grossberg.

Reviews

"This is an important text that sheds a powerful new light on the exploitation industry we have come to know as Hollywood. It is a book that demands a close reading." - Peter McLaren, Professor of Urban Schooling, University of California, Los Angeles

"A rich and varied collection of commentaries, offering insightful critiques and sociological sensibilities. Of interest to ordinary film buffs and cinematic specialists alike." - Michael Parenti, author of Make-Believe Media and Contrary Notions

"For readers of Hollywood's Exploited, the wisdom will be gained, not received. Against conventional grains, this is an anthology of thoughtful inquiries and tough-minded assessments - challenging us to think anew, and more deeply, about what we see in movies." - Norman Solomon, author of The Habits of Highly Deceptive Media; War Made Easy; and The Trouble with Dilbert

"This smart collection reminds us that whatever reality we might observe and investigate is merely the starting point of thought, struggle, and action; standing directly next to whatever the case may be is always what the case could be or should be. Frymer, Kashani, Nocella, and Van Heertum have assembled a mighty chorus urging us to go beneath surface meanings and instant impressions, official policies and commercial messages, political propaganda, controlling myths, received wisdom and the dogma of common sense. We begin to understand, then, the root causes and social context of the taken-for-granted all around us. This is a call-to-arms." - William Ayers, Distinguished Professor of Education, University of Illinois at Chicago and author of To Teach

"This book offers the clearest evidence yet of how a supposedly 'liberal' Hollywood trades in racial, sexual, and other stereotypes as a matter of course, and why such portrayals of marginalized and otherwise disempowered groups have a profound impact on the public's appreciation of the various forms of social and political discrimination they still face." - Mark LeVine, Professor of Middle Eastern History, University of California, Irvine and author of Why They Don't Hate Us and Heavy Metal Islam


Table of contents (14 chapters)

  • Introduction

    Frymer, Benjamin (et al.)

    Pages 1-10

  • The Imperial System in Media Culture

    Boggs, Carl

    Pages 13-28

  • Hollywood and the Working-Class Hero: Diamonds in the Mean Streets of Boston

    Heertum, Richard

    Pages 29-44

  • Hollywood’s Missionary Agenda: Christonormativity and Audience Baptism

    Steinberg, Shirley R.

    Pages 45-64

  • Hollywood Incarcerated and on Death Row: Bjork, Schwarzenegger, and the Pedagogy of Retribution

    Heertum, Richard

    Pages 65-81

Buy this book

eBook $24.99
price for USA
  • ISBN 978-0-230-11742-6
  • Digitally watermarked, no DRM
  • Included format: PDF
  • eBooks can be used on all reading devices
  • Download immediately after purchase
Softcover $115.00
price for USA
  • ISBN 978-0-230-62199-2
  • Free shipping for individuals worldwide
  • Usually dispatched within 3 to 5 business days.
Softcover $37.00
price for USA
  • ISBN 978-0-230-62359-0
  • Free shipping for individuals worldwide
  • Usually dispatched within 3 to 5 business days.
Loading...

Bibliographic Information

Bibliographic Information
Book Title
Hollywood's Exploited
Editors
  • Richard Van Heertum
  • T. Kashani
  • A. Nocella
  • B. Frymer
Series Title
Education, Psychoanalysis, and Social Transformation
Copyright
2010
Publisher
Palgrave Macmillan US
Copyright Holder
Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Nature America Inc.
eBook ISBN
978-0-230-11742-6
DOI
10.1057/9780230117426
Softcover ISBN
978-0-230-62199-2
Softcover ISBN
978-0-230-62359-0
Edition Number
1
Number of Pages
XXIII, 246
Topics